What to do if you cannot edit a page in Contribute

Posted February 22nd, 2010 at 11:58 am.

Notice the error message at the top of the screen. If it says you have not created a connection, or do not have permission to edit the page, you will need to contact the Help Desk for permissions and assistance with creating a connection. 

If you get an error message saying that someone else is editing the page:

Either someone else is working on an unpublished draft, or they simply forgot to discard an unnecessary draft. In either case, Contribute stores a locked file of the page on the server to prevent users from overwriting one another. What you can do:

1) To prevent this type of error: When closing Contribute, always be sure to either Publish or Discard any drafts you have open, or else the files for those drafts will be locked.

2) If a file appears to be locked, the person Contribute says is currently editing the file can delete the draft from their computer. To delete a draft: Go to View > Draft Console to see all of your unpublished drafts. Select the appropriate page title, and when the page opens you can either Publish or Discard the draft as needed. If you’re not able to delete a draft, or unable to reach the person responsible for it, please contact Web Services for assistance, and be sure to let them know the address of the page you are trying to edit.

Filed under: Legacy: Adobe Contribute Tags: , , by Juliana Perry

Comments are closed.