Hide/Show Sections and Items in Moodle Courses

Posted June 13th, 2019 at 11:58 am.

Want to start working on a course, but don’t want Participants to see the unfinished product? Want to upload resources that are just for Teachers? Moodle lets you hide sections, Activities, and Resources, making them invisible to the students, but always available to you.

Open and closed eye

The key to hiding in Moodle is the eye. Clicking on the eye will flip it from one status to the other. An open eye means something is visible to students. A closed eye means something is invisible to students. If you want to hide the item, you should click on the open eye. When you click on the open eye it will become a closed eye, which will mean the item is hidden. (Note: In order to make this change, editing must be turned on.)

You will find the eye icon in the Edit menus in the upper right-hand corner of your blocks (the topic/week sections of your course), and to the right of any activity or resource. When you are done making things available or unavailable, you can always check to make sure it is set up properly by switching your role (drop-down menu in the upper right-hand corner when clicking on your name in the profile section) to “Auditor”. This will show you exactly what the course looks like to your students.

Filed under: Moodle Tags: by Helen Chang

Comments are closed.