Back Up a Moodle Site (No User Data)

Posted June 7th, 2017 at 6:23 pm.

By default, a Moodle Backup will not contain user data (i.e., student grades, usage data, assignment submissions, etc.). This data greatly increases the size of a back up, and is not necessary if you only need an archive of course activities, formatting, and resources (i.e., readings, files, links, etc.) to copy over to future course shells. (If you do need to include user data, see Backup a Moodle Site (with User Data)).

To back up a Moodle site without user data:

  1. Go to that site, then go to the Administration block, and click Backup.
  2. On the Initial Settings page, keep the defaults, scroll to the bottom of the page, and click Next.
  3. On the Schema Settings page, uncheck any blocks, activities, or resources that you don’t need, then scroll to the bottom and click Next.
  4. On the Confirmation and Review page, you can rename the file to something more meaningful (optional), then scroll to the bottom of the page and click Perform Backup.
  5. When the backup is finished, you will see Backup completed successfully. Click Continue.
  6. Find the file you just created in your User private back area, and click Download.
Filed under: Moodle Tags: , by Jenny Spohrer

Comments are closed.