Back Up a Moodle Site (with User Data)

Posted June 7th, 2017 at 6:45 pm.

Including enrolled user data greatly increases the size of a backup and may produce a file that must be securely stored. You only need to include enrolled user data if:

  • You are migrating a Moodle Organization site from Moodle Archive to the current Moodle site and you need to keep user submissions, posts, comments, etc.
  • You are creating a backup of an academic course for archival purposes and need to include student grades, user data, forum posts, assignment submissions, etc.

For all other kinds of backups, follow the instructions under Backup a Moodle Site (No User Data) instead.

To back up a Moodle site with user data:

  1. Log in to the site.
  2. Go to the Administration block, and click Backup.
  3. On the Initial Settings page, check Include enrolled users, and click Next.
  4. On the Schema Settings page, un-check any blocks, activities, or resources that you don’t need, then scroll to the bottom and click Next.
  5. On the Confirmation and Review page, you can rename the file to something more meaningful (optional), then scroll to the bottom of the page and click Perform Backup.
  6. When the backup is finished, you will see Backup completed successfully. Click Continue.
  7. Find the file you just created in your User private back area, and click Download.

If you are creating the backup file for an archival purposes, be sure to move it out of your browser downloads folder and into a more permanent location. Note that security and access to backup files containing student grades, learning data, or assignment submissions, are governed by FERPA law. Follow the guidelines for Level 1 Regulated and sensitive data in Bryn Mawr’s Data Handling Policy when handling and storing these files.

Filed under: Moodle Tags: , by Jenny Spohrer

Comments are closed.