Panopto: Sharing Recordings

Posted July 15th, 2020 at 1:34 pm.

By default, Panopto recordings “inherit” — or have the same Share settings as — the folder in which they are stored. You can edit Share settings at the folder or individual recording level.

Viewer Permission Levels

There are four viewer permission levels, in increasing order of visibility or “publicness”:

  • Specific people — Only specific users and groups can view. Limit visibility to people and groups that you name; shared recordings show up in their Shared with me folder and shared folders are visible in their left sidebar; links you share or post will only work for people named.
  • Anyone at your organization with the link — Unlisted, anyone at your organization who has the link can view. Limit access to people who can log in to our Panopto site (i.e., current Bryn Mawr College students and employees) who click on a link to the video or see it in a player window embedded in a website or Moodle page.
  • Anyone at your organization — Anyone at your organization can find and view. People logged into our Panopto site do not need a link to view, the recording will to show up when they search or browse the site, in their Everything folder, and (temporarily) in the What’s New section of their homepages. Only use this option when you want to advertise a recording to everyone at Bryn Mawr College!
  • Anyone with the link — Unlisted, anyone who has the can link view. No sign-in required. Anyone who has the link to the recording or sees it in a player window embedded in a website or Moodle page will be able to view; use when posting a video for public viewing or sharing links with people outside of Bryn Mawr College.

Checking and Changing Who Can See Videos

Click a video or folder’s Share icon to open its Settings > Share page.

Panopto share iconThe share icon appears in different places on different screens, but it always shaped like a less than symbol and will be labeled “Share” if you hover over it. 

 

Permissions are controlled by settings under Who has access:

  • If the permissions were inherited from a folder, that folder will be named. Click on the folder name to view and/or change settings for that folder.
  • You can change the settings for the currently selected video only immediately below make the settings for an individual video less restrictive than the an 

Getting a Public Link for a Recording

For example, the image below is a screen shot of the Settings > Share window for a video (or “session”) titled, “How to Create a Voice-Over PowerPoint (on PC),” which we recorded to the folder for the Moodle course, ” Academic Continuity During COVID-19,” but wanted to also publish on a web page.

  1. Under Who has access is a message stating this video inherits the permissions of the “Academic Continuity during COVID-19” course folder in which it is located.
  2. In this case, the permission for the inherited was “Anyone with the link” can view. If it was not, we could select that here in order to change the setting for just this video.
  3. Because “Anyone with the link” is visible, when we copy the sharing Link at the top of this page and paste it into an email, an instant message, or a web page, anyone who clicks on that link will be able to view the video, without signing into Panopto.

Screen shot of Panopto video share settings

Sharing Panopto Recordings through Moodle

Panopto folders are automatically created for any Moodle courses that contains the Panopto block. These folders are set up so that only course participants can view the videos they contain and only participants with a Teacher role can create them. Who has access will be set to Specific people, and when you click the blue links for the different groups, they will match the participants list (Viewers) and the list of teachers (Creator, Publisher).

Anything you upload or record to these folders will automatically be available to these groups. The latest recordings will show up in the Panopto block. You can also add links to Panopto videos or embed them at different points in your Moodle page, if you want to control where in the course they show up. As long as you keep “Who has access” set to Specific people, your videos will remain accessible only to people enrolled in the course.

Filed under: Panopto by Jenny Spohrer

Comments are closed.