OneDrive provides an easy way to share files and folders with others:
- Create a “share link” for a file or folder.
- Email or paste the link into a web page, shared document, Moodle course, chat, etc.
- Other people click that link to access the file or folder.
By default, settings for share links are not secure: anyone who has access to the link will have full editing and sharing permissions for the file or folder.
However, you can customize the sharing settings and increase security by:
- Limiting who can use a share link.
- Limiting how long a share link works.
- Requiring a password for access.
- Giving recipients view-only access with the link.
Create a Share Link with Secure Settings
- Upload or create a file or folder in OneDrive.
- Hover over it and click the (share).
- Click the sharing settings (outlined in red in the image below) at the top of the Send link window to customize them.
- In the Link Settings window (shown below), under “Who would you like this link to work for?” choose:
- Anyone with the link (least secure): if you share this link with someone and they share forward it to others, everyone will be able to access the file or folder.
- People in your organization with the link: limits access to current Bryn Mawr students and employees, users must log into their Bryn Mawr College e-mail/Office365 account to open the file or folder.
- People with existing access: use to create a direct link to a file or folder that only works for people it has already been shared with. For example, if you are discussing a shared document with people in a web conference and want a direct link to it that you can paste into the chat.
- Specific people — most secure option: creates a link that only works for individuals with email addresses you specify (can be internal (brynmawr.edu) or external. You will add the email addresses after clicking Apply.
- Under Other settings, set additional parameters:
- Allow editing: If checked, people who click the share link can edit files, change sharing permissions, and share with others. If you are sharing a folder, they can edit, rename, move, copy, delete, and add files in that folder. Uncheck to allow people to view files, but prevent them from making changes or sharing them.
- Set expiration date – specify a date when the share link stops working.
- Set password – specify a password that people need to enter before they can access the file or folder. This can increase security, but only if a) you use a strong password and b) you share the password and the link separately. If you email the link to someone, don’t include the password in an email; if you post the link on a public web page, don’t post the password, too. Have people contact you for the password and/or send it by a more secure means.
- Block download (Office365 files only) – when turned on, people who access a file through the share link can edit it within online versions Office365 apps but cannot download it or edit it in the desktop versions.
- Click Apply to save your settings.
- If you chose to share with Specific people, give those people access by adding their names or email addresses in the To: line and clicking Send. OneDrive will send them an email with a link to the item and it will show up on their Shared with me page in OneDrive.
Check or Change Who Can Access a File or Folder
- Hover over the filename, click the , and choose Manage access.
- On the Manage Access pane:
- Links giving access lists any share links you’ve created for the item. Click … (More options) next to a link to edit or remove it; or Share at the top of the list to create a new one.
- Direct Access lists the groups and individuals who have permission to access the file. Click the arrow next to a name to change a person or group’s access level (view or edit) or to remove access or click the + to add a group or person to the list.